The assessment schedule of 2012-2013:



Teaching schedule:


Week 9


  • Oct 22-26
    • Mid-term Break
    • Designated tasks on Mathletics

Week 10


  • On Monday Oct 29,

    • Answer students' questions
    • Revision of chapter 10 and 11 of Book 5B
  • On Tuesday Oct 30,

    • Answer students' questions
    • Revision of chapter 10 and 11 of Book 5B
  • On Wednesday Oct 31,

    • Answer students' questions
    • Revision of chapter 10 and 11 of Book 5B
  • On Friday Nov 2,

    • Assessment date
      • Topic: Transformation
      • Assessment type: Written
      • Time allowed: 60 mins
      • Criteria B & D will be assessed

Week 11


  • On Monday Nov 5,

    • Explain the solution of last assessment
  • On Tuesday Nov 6,

    • Start a new chapter (Book M2, chapter 12): Determinants & Systems of Linear Equations
    • Introduce the topic: Definition of Determinants (Section 12.1)
      • Find the value of determinants
  • On Wednesday Nov 7,

    • Introduce the topic: Minor & Cofactor (Section 12.1)
    • Assign the all questions on Ex.12A
  • On Friday Nov 9,

    • Answer students' questions about last assignment
    • Introduce the topic "Definition of Matrices" by referring to the supplementary notes
      • Demonstrate how we record and process the data by using matrix in some real-life examples
      • Define the term "Element", "Order", "Square matrix" and "Zero matrix"
    • Assign all questions related to the above knowledge on the supplementary notes

Week 12


  • On Monday Nov 12,

    • Answer students' questions about last assignment
    • Introduce the topic "Definition of Scalar Matrices" by referring to the supplementary notes
      • Demonstrate the Addition, Substraction & Multiplication of Matrices
      • State other properties of addition, substraction & multiplication of Matrices
    • Classwork: Assign Ex. A and B related to the above knowledge on the supplementary notes
  • On Tuesday Nov 13,

    • Introduce the topic "Inverses of Square Matrix" by referring to the supplementary notes
      • State the properties of multiplicative inverses of square matrix
      • Define the singular matrix
    • Classwork: Assign Ex. C related to the above knowledge on the supplementary notes
  • On Wednesday Nov 14,

    • Strengthen students' learning in Inverse of Square Matrix by assigning question 11, 15, 29, 30, 31(a) and 32 on Ex.13D on the page 13.41-13.42 on the textbook (Due on Nov 19, 2012)
  • On Friday Nov 16,

    • Answer students' questions about last assignment
    • Demonstrate how to solve two simultaneous linear equations by using matrices
    • classwork: Assign Ex. D related to the above knowledge on the supplementary notes
    • Strengthen students' learning in Inverse of Square Matrix by assigning question 1-8 on Ex.13D on the page 13.54 -13.55 on the textbook (Due on Nov 20, 2012)

Week 13


  • On Monday Nov 19,

    • Answer students' questions about last assignment
    • Continue to finish the assignment on textbook
  • On Tuesday Nov 20,

    • Introduce the topic "Network, Graphs and Matrices" by referring to the supplementary notes
      • Define the relationship between graph, nodes, edges of a network
      • Define what the adjacent matrix is
      • Demonstrate how to find the adjacency matrix for a network
    • classwork: Assign Ex. E related to the above knowledge on the supplementary notes
  • On Wednesday Nov 21,

    • Introduce the topic "Food webs, Randomizing & Encrypting, Geometric transformations, Dominance Matrices" by referring to the supplementary notes
    • classwork: Assign Ex. F related to the above knowledge on the supplementary notes
  • On Friday Nov 23,

    • No class - PD day

Week 14


  • On Monday Nov 26,

    • Introduce the topic "Vectors & Scalars" by referring to the supplementary notes
      • Highlight the characteristics and difference between vectors and scalars
      • Demonstrate how to calculate the addition of two vectors
    • Assign Exercise on page 259 - 260 related to the above knowledge on the supplementary notes (Due on Nov 28, 2012)
  • On Tuesday Nov 27,

    • Introduce the topic "Applications of Vectors" by referring to the supplementary notes
      • explain different applications by using the worked examples on page 260 - 263
    • Assign Exercise on page 264 - 266 related to the above knowledge on the supplementary notes
  • On Wednesday Nov 28,

    • Answer students' problems about the last assignments
    • Continue to finish the last assignment
  • On Friday Nov 30,

    • Introduce the topic "Vectors & Geometry" by referring to the supplementary notes
      • explain different applications by using the worked examples on page 267 - 268
      • Assign Exercise on page 269 - 273 related to the above knowledge on the supplementary notes

Week 15


  • On Dec 3 - 7,

    • No class - Summative Assessment Week

Week 16


  • On Monday Dec 10 - 13,

    • Final review of Vector & Matrices
  • On Friday Dec 14,

    • Assessment date

      • Topic: Vector & Matrices
      • Assessment type: Written
      • Time allowed: 100 mins
      • Criteria B & D will be assessed

Week 17


  • On Monday Dec 17,

    • Introduce the topic "Arithmetic Progression (AP)" by referring to the textbook S6 chapter 1 section 1.1 - 1.3
      • Highlight the concept, general term(Tn), common difference(CD) of AP
      • Demonstrate how to find Tn and CD
    • Assign question 5(a)(c), 7(c), 10, 11 & 15 of Exercise 1A and 2(f)(g), 3, 6, 7, 9 & 12 of Exercise 1B on page 1.17 - 1.18 (Due on Dec 19, 2012)
  • On Tuesday Dec 18,

    • Introduce the topic "Arithmetic Series(AS) & its applications" by referring to the textbook S6 chapter 1 section 1.4 - 1.5
      • explain different applications by using the examples on section 1.5 (page 1.29 - 1.31)
    • Assign question 4, 5, 9, 11, 14 & 15 of Exercise 1D on page 1.32 - 1.34 (Due on Dec 21, 2012)
  • On Wednesday Dec 19,

    • Answer students' problems about the last assignments
    • Continue to finish the last assignment
  • On Friday Dec 21,

    • Answer students' problems about the last assignments
    • Assign question 6, 7, 11, 12, 16, 18, 21 & 25 of Revision Ex. 1 on page 1.38 - 1.41 (Due on Jan 7, 2013)

Week 18


  • On Dec 24 - Jan 4,

    • No school - Christmas Holiday

Week 19


  • On Monday Jan 7,

    • Introduce the topic "Geometric Progression (GP)" by referring to the textbook S6 chapter 2 section 2.1 - 2.2
      • Highlight the concept, general term(Tn), common ratio(CR) of GP
      • Demonstrate how to find Tn and CR
    • Assign question 2(b), 7, 9, 13, 15 - 21 & 25 of Exercise 2A on page 2.13 - 2.15 (Due on Jan 9, 2013)
  • On Tuesday Jan 8,

    • Introduce the topic "Sum of GP & Sum to infinity of a GP" by referring to the textbook S6 chapter 2 section 2.3 - 2.4
      • elaborate the general formula for calculating the sum of GP and sum of infinity of GP
    • Assign question 1(c), 4, 9, 12, 16 & 18 of Exercise 2B on page 2.20 - 2.22 and question 1(c), 4, 6, 7 & 11 on page 2.27 - 2.28 (Due on Jan 14, 2013)
  • On Wednesday Jan 9,

    • Answer students' problems about the last assignments
    • Continue to finish the last assignments
  • On Friday Jan 11,

    • Answer students' problems about the last assignments
    • Continue to finish the last assignments

Week 20


  • On Monday Jan 14,

    • Introduce the topic "Application on the Sum of GP" by referring to the textbook S6 chapter 2 section 2.5
      • explain different applications by using the examples on section 2.5 (page 2.29 - 2.32)
    • Assign question 4, 8, 10, 13 - 15 of Exercise 2A on page 2.13 - 2.15 (Due on Jan 16, 2013)
  • On Tuesday Jan 15,

    • Guide students to be familiar with the IB question styles by assigning 7 questions from other IB schools (Due on Jan 21, 2013)
  • On Wednesday Jan 16,

    • Answer students' problems about the last assignments
    • Continue to finish the last assignments
  • On Friday Jan 18,

    • No class - PTS day

Week 21


  • On Monday Jan 21,

    • Introduce the topic "Exponential(exp) functions and its graph" by referring to the textbook 4B chapter 10 section 10.4 and the topic "Logarithmic(log) functions and its graph" by referring to the textbook 4B chapter 11 section 11.3B & C
      • compare two functions from the graphs
      • highlight the characteristics of two functions with different bases
      • explain the change of the graphs of both functions when the base is falling
  • On Tuesday Jan 22,

    • Introduce the properties of common log functions and log functions to base a by referring to the textbook 4B chapter 11 section 11.1B and section 11.3
      • demonstrate how to solve the problems by using the properties of log function
    • Assign question 2 - 4, 6, 7, 10, 12, 14, 16, 17, 18(a)(b), 19(b) & 20 of Revision Exercise 11 on page 11.39 - 11.40 (Due on Jan 25, 2013)
  • On Wednesday Jan 23,

    • Answer students' problems about the last assignments
    • Continue to finish the last assignments
  • On Friday Jan 25,

    • Introduce the Applications of log functions by referring to the textbook 4B chapter 11 section 11.2
      • explain different applications by using the examples on section 11.2 (page 11.18 - 11.22)
    • Assign question 26, 27, 29, 32 & 42 of Revision Exercise 11 on page 11.41 - 11.43 (Due on Jan 28, 2013)

Week 22


  • On Monday Jan 28,

    • Introduce the Applications of exp functions by referring to the textbook 4B chapter 10 section 10.4
      • demonstrate how to solve the problems by applying exp function
    • Assign question 1, 2, 5, 8, 9, 11 & 14 of Exercise 10D on page 10.27 - 10.30 (Due on Jan 30, 2013)
  • On Tuesday Jan 29,

    • Answer students' problems about the last assignments & continue to finish the last assignments
  • On Wednesday Jan 30,

    • Answer students' problems about the last assignments
    • Continue to finish the last assignments
  • On Friday Feb 1,

    • Answer students' problems about the last assignments
    • Assign question 21, 24, 25, 27, 29, 30 & 32 of Revision Exercise 10 on page 10.34 - 10.36 (Due on Feb 4, 2013)

Week 23


  • On Monday Feb 4,

    • Answer students' problems about the last assignments
    • Discuss the problems posted on Y10 Assessment wiki
  • On Tuesday & Wednesday Feb 5 - 6,

  • On Friday Feb 8,

    • No school - CNY holiday

Week 24


  • From Monday to Wednesday Feb 18 - 20,

    • Final review AP, GP, log and exp
  • On Friday Feb 22,


Week 25


  • On Monday Feb 25,

    • Revise Trigonometric ratios of acute angles(Trig. identities/Trig. ratio of special angels) by referring to the textbook 4B chapter 9 section 9.1 A & B
    • Introduce Definitions of Trig ratios on a rectangular coordinate plane by referring to the textbook 4B chapter 9 section 9.1 C
    • Assign question 1, 3-6 & 8-9 of Exercise 9A on page 9.9 - 9.10 (Due on Monday Mar 4, 2013)
  • From Wednesday to Thursday Feb 27 - 28,

    • Final review AP, GP, log and exp
  • On Friday Mar 1,

    • Assessment day
      • Topic: Vector & Matrices
      • Assessment type: Written
      • Time allowed: 100 mins
      • Criteria A & D will be assessed

Week 26


  • On Monday Mar 4,

    • Answer students' problems about the last assignment
    • Introduce Trigonometric ratios of any angles by referring to the textbook 4B chapter 9 section 9.2 & 9.3
    • Assign question 1-14 of Exercise 9B on page 9.24 - 9.25 (Due on Wednesday Mar 6, 2013)
  • On Tuesday Mar 5,

    • WorldMaths Day - try the on-line Maths competition by Mathletics
  • On Thursday Mar 7,

    • Answer students' problems about the last assignment
    • Assign question 15-23 of Exercise 9B on page 9.25 - 9.26 (Due on Friday Mar 8, 2013)
  • On Friday Mar 8,

    • Answer students' problems about the last assignment
    • Introduce Trigonometric Identities by referring to the textbook 4B chapter 9 section 9.4
    • Assign question 5-13 of Exercise 9C on page 9.30 (Due on Monday Mar 11, 2013)

Week 27


  • On Monday Mar 11,

    • Answer students' problems about the last assignment
    • Introduce Graphs of Trigonometric Functions & Solving Trigonometric Equations by referring to the textbook 4B chapter 9 section 9.5 & 9.6
    • Assign question 1(a), 2(b), 3(c), 4(a), 5(b), 6(c), 7(a), 8-10, 13 & 14 of Exercise 9D on page 9.45 (Due on Friday Mar 15, 2013)
  • On Tuesday Mar 12,

    • No class - PD day
  • On Wednesday Mar 13,

    • Answer students' problems about the last assignment
    • Facilitate students to finish the last assignment
  • On Friday Mar 15,

    • Answer students' problems about the last assignment
    • Introduce Graphs Solutions of Trigonometric Equations by referring to the textbook 4B chapter 9 section 9.7
    • Assign question 1-5 of Exercise 9E on page 9.25 - 9.26 and 1, 2(a)(c)(e)(f), 3, 4, 5, 6, 7, 8(a), 9(b), 10(c) & 11 of Revision Exercise 9 on page 9.56 - 9.57 (Due on Friday Mar 15, 2013) & (Due on Wednesday Mar 20, 2013)

Week 28


  • On Monday Mar 18,

    • Answer students' problems about the last assignment
    • Facilitate students to finish the last assignment
  • On Tuesday Mar 19,

    • Answer students' problems about the last assignment
    • Facilitate students to finish the last assignment
  • On Wednesday Mar 20,

    • Answer students' problems about the last assignment
    • Assign question 13-15, 18-21, 28, 30, 32, 34, 37 & 38 of Revision Exercise 9 on page 9.58 - 9.61
  • On Friday Mar 22,

    • Answer students' problems about the last assignment
    • Facilitate students to finish the last assignment

Week 29


  • On Monday Mar 26,

    • Introduce Sine Formula by referring to the textbook 6 chapter 3 section 3.3
    • Assign question 4 - 7, 9, 11, 13, 15, 18, 19, 22, 24 - 26 of Exercise 3B on page 3.17 - 3.19 (Due on Tuesday Apr 9, 2013)
  • On Tuesday Mar 27,

    • Answer students' problems about the last assignment
    • Facilitate students to finish the last assignment
  • On Wednesday Mar 28,

    • No school - Easter holiday
  • On Friday Mar 30,

    • No school - Easter holiday

Week 30


  • Apr 1 - Apr 5,

    • No school - Easter holiday

Week 31


  • On Monday Apr 8,

    • No class - Sports day
  • On Tuesday Apr 9,

    • Introduce Cosine Formula by referring to the textbook 6 chapter 3 section 3.4
    • Assign question 1, 4, 6, 9, 10, 14, 17, 20, 21 & 23 of Exercise 3C on page 3.22 - 3.24 (Due on Tuesday Apr 11, 2013)
  • On Wednesday Apr 10,

    • Final review of chapter 9 on book 4B and chapter 3 on book 6
    • Answer students' problems about the last assignment
    • Facilitate students to finish the last assignment
  • On Friday Apr 12,

    • Assessment day
      • Topic: Trigonometry
      • Assessment type: Written
      • Time allowed: 60 mins
      • Criteria A & B will be assessed

Week 32


  • On Monday Apr 15,

    • No class - Sports day
  • On Tuesday Apr 16,

    • Introduce standard score & Normal distribution by referring to the textbook 5A chapter 4 Measures of Dispersion (II) section 4.1 & 4.2
  • On Wednesday Apr 17,

    • Revise the concepts of normal distribution
    • Assign question 1- 4, 6, 9, 11, 12 & 14 - 16 of Exercise 4A on page 4.9 - 4.12 (Due on Monday Apr 29, 2013)
  • On Friday Apr 19,

    • No class - PTS day

Week 33


  • Apr 22 - Apr 26,

    • No class - Project week

Week 34


  • On Monday Apr 29,

    • Answer students' problems about the last assignment
    • Facilitate students to finish the last assignment
  • On Tuesday Apr 30, (!!!changed to Monday time-table!!!)

    • Introduce Investigation on Measures of Dispersion of data by referring to the textbook 5A chapter 4 section 4.3
  • On Wednesday May 1,

    • No school - Labour day
  • On Friday May 3,

    • Assign question 1- 10 of Exercise 4B on page 4.25 - 4.28 (Due on Tuesday May 7, 2013)

Week 35


  • On Monday May 6,

    • Answer students' problems about the last assignment
    • Facilitate students to finish the last assignment
  • On Tuesday May 7,

    • Answer students' problems about the last assignment
    • Assign question 11- 16 of Exercise 4B on page 4.25 - 4.28 (Due on Wednesday May 8, 2013)
  • On Wednesday May 8,

    • Answer students' problems about the last assignment
    • Facilitate students to finish the last assignment
  • On Friday May 10,

    • Assign question 1- 7, 9, 11, 12, 14, 16 - 29 of Revision Exercise 4 on page 4.35 - 4.42 (Due on Tuesday May 14, 2013)

Week 36


  • On Monday May 13,

    • Answer students' problems about the last assignment
    • Facilitate students to finish the last assignment
  • On Tuesday May 14,

    • Answer students' problems about the last assignment
    • Facilitate students to finish the last assignment
  • On Wednesday May 15,

    • Introduce Census, Sample Survey, Sampling methods & Design of questionnaires by referring to the textbook 6 chapter 4 More about Use & Misuse of statistics section 4.1 - 4.3
    • Assign question 1- 7, 9, & 11 of Exercise 4A on page 4.16- 4.20 (Due on Monday May 20, 2013)
  • On Friday May 17,

    • No school - Buddha's birthday

Week 37


  • On Monday May 20,

    • Answer students' problems about the last assignment
    • Introduce Conducting statistical surveys & Use and Misuse of Statistics by referring to the textbook 6 chapter 4 section 4.4 - 4.5
    • Assign question 1- 5 of Exercise 4B on page 4.32- 4.34 (Due on Tuesday May 21, 2013)
  • On Tuesday May 21,

    • Final review of chapter 4
    • Assign question 1- 12 of Revision Exercise 4 on page 4.38- 4.44(Due on Wednesday May 22, 2013)
  • On Wednesday May 22,

    • Final review of chapter 4
    • Answer students' problems about the last assignment
  • On Friday May 24,

    • Assessment day
      • Topic: Statistics
      • Assessment type: Written
      • Time allowed: 60 mins
      • Criteria C & D will be assessed

Week 38


  • On Monday May 27,

    • Review Polynomials by reviewing the textbook 4A chapter 2, 4, 6
  • On Tuesday May 28,

    • Review Vector & Matrices by reviewing the textbook M2 chapter 12 - 15
  • On Wednesday May 29,

    • Review A.P. , G.P., Exponential, Logarithm by reviewing the textbook 4B chapter 10 & 5B chapter 8 & 6 chapter 1 & 2
  • On Friday May 31,


Week 39


  • Jun 3 - 7,

    • Summative Assessment Week

Week 40


  • On Monday Jun 10,

  • On Tuesday Jun 11,

    • Continue the DP past paper related to Exponential functions
  • On Wednesday Jun 12,

    • No school - Tuen Ng Festival
  • On Friday Jun 14,

    • No class - Student Led Conference

Week 41


  • On Monday Jun 17,

    • Continue the DP past paper related to Exponential functions
  • On Tuesday Jun 18,

  • On Wednesday Jun 19,

    • Continue the DP past paper related to Quadratic functions
  • On Friday Jun 20,

    • No class - Interdisciplinary Unit (IDU)

Coming assessment - Assessment 8 (Summative Assessment)

  • will be held on Friday June 7, 2013(8:40am - 10:40am)
  • Criterion A & C will be assessed.
  • For the details, please visit assessment wiki.